

Thornhill
College
E-Safety
Bulletin:
Autumn 2018

E-SAFETY UPDATE: NOV 2018

IN THIS ISSUE - E-SAFETY NEWS

E-Safety Committee News

This update is for members of the E-Safety Committee of Thornhill College. It contains news about e-safety and related issues and is designed to supplement committee meetings and other communications.

E-Safety Committee Role

The E-Safety Committee was established in June 2015 with the aim of developing a school-wide approach to internet safety and related matters. It was envisaged that committee meetings and other discussions would allow for a full range of opinion to be consulted and enable collective decision making. The ICT Co-ordinator chairs the committee.

The membership of the committee is:

- Principal
- Child Protection Officer
- ICT Co-ordinator (Chair)
- Head of Senior School
- Head of Middle School
- Head of Junior School
- Governors x2
- Support Staff Representative
- Parent Representative

Pupil representatives can be invited to meetings as required and will be drawn from the Middle School and Senior E-Safety Prefect Teams.

Policy Review and Update

The school E-Safety Policy is being updated to include provision for the use of social media by staff, and provision for pupils using their own digtal devices (BYOD – Bring Your Own Device). The new policy sections are being developed in discussions between a number of interested staff and will be presented to the Board of Governors in December 2018.

A separate policy addressing new requirements arising from the GDPR legislation is also being developed and will be presented to the Boardof Governors as soon as possible.

E-Safety Prefect Teams

Two new teams of pupils with e-safety roles have been established. These are:

- A teamof seven Senior School prefects led by Niamh Friel (Year 14)
- A team of eighteen Middle School prefects

The teams will work separately but alongside each other and will have specific tasks to complete as part of their roles.

Childnet Digital Leaders Programme

The Childnet Digital Leaders Programme is a youth leadership training programme empowering young people to educate their peers about online safety. It is delivered via an interactive online platform including short tutorials alongside team discussion and peer education In 2016-17 eighteen Year 12 pupils completed the programme. This term we purchased two more years of the programme and currentlt have the eighteen pupils from the Middle School Prefect team enrolled.

Anti-Bullying Week 2018

Anti-Bullying Week (Nov 12th – 16th) organised by Anti-Bullying Alliance. This year the theme is 'Choose Respect and a number of activities are taking place at Thornhill College. The Middle School prefects are contributing to the week by visiting each form class in in Years 8-11 with an anticyberbullying message and presenting assemblies to Year 11 and Year 12 classes highlighting the key messages of Anti-Bullying Week.

Senior E-Safety Prefects

The main work of the senior team this year will be to:

 Carry out a survey of Senior and Middle School pupils about their attitudes to e-safety, particularly how it relates to the use of social media platforms.

The findings of this survey will be communicated to the E-Safety Committee.

- Publish a pupil newsletter which contains news, information and guidance about the positive use of technology.
- Help to organise events to celebrate Safer Internet Day in Feb 2019



Safer Internet Day 2019

This is co-ordinated by the UK Safer Internet Centre to promote the safe, responsible and positive use of digital technology by young people.

At Thornhill College we aim to mark the day with a range of activities aimed at each year group in the school.



E-Safety Mark

Schools that are able to show good practice in their Online Safety policy and procedures can apply for the Online Safety Mark.

This is awarded 360 Degree Safe organisation. It costs about £1000 to register so there are no immediate plans to apply. However, we are using the accompanying self-review framework tool to help us with planning our e-safety provision.

We could apply for the mark once we are satisfied that we have reached the minimum requirements in all the areas.



Senior E-Safety Prefect Team

- Niamh Friel
- Anna Hegarty
- · Ailish Polley
- Sarah Taggart
- Megan Lusby-Sherrard
- Tegan Villa
- Aine Fearon

(All Year 14)

Middle School E-Safety Prefect Team

- Becky Phelan 12A
- Emer Thompson 12A
- Leala-Maia Donnelly 12B
- Regan McDonnell 12B
- Caitlin O'Doherty 12C
- Anastasia Vafias 12C
- Amy Barber 12D
- Eva McCool 12D

- Erin Ferry 12E
- Aisling Mortimer 12E
- Ailish Matthews 12F
- Hannah Quinn 12F
- Amber Lewis 12G
- Miya O'Brien 12G
- Marta Cunningham 12H
- Tiegan McLaughlin 12H
- Eava Hudson 12J
- Ava Whoriskey 12J